Change Ups: Lakeshore 504 announces banking awards


Lakeshore 504, celebrating its 30th year of helping small businesses grow, recognized Craig Oosterhouse of Chase Bank, recipient of the Central Region Banker of the Year Award; Ron Mann of Chemical Bank, recipient of the Northern Region Banker of the Year Award; and Chase Bank, recipient of the 2013 Bank of the Year Award. Lakeshore 504 is a program of the Michigan West Coast Chamber of Commerce and the Chambers of Grand Haven, Spring Lake and Ferrysburg.


Beene Garter announced the additions of Rachel Wynbelt, retirement plan administrator; Jeff DeLeeuw, full charge bookkeeper; and Ben Eavey, director of IT.


Hope Network psychologist Dane VerMerris has been appointed 2014 president-elect of the Michigan Psychological Association. He will assume the position of president in 2015.


David L.J.M. Skidmore, a partner with Warner Norcross & Judd LLP, has been appointed to the board of directors of Broadway Grand Rapids.

Kalamazoo Symphony Orchestra’s assistant conductor, Barry Ross, announced he will retire at the conclusion of the symphony’s 2013-14 season. Ross has been with the orchestra for 25 years, leading the orchestra for numerous performances, including the Family Discover concerts and the Youth Concerts.

The Lakeshore Art Festival announced it has launched a new website,, and will expand upon last year’s event in Muskegon featuring a regional network of more than 300 artists that offer a diverse variety of artwork.


The Michigan Cancer Consortium has presented a Spirit of Collaboration Award to Catherine’s Health Center for its Live Smart! program. The award is the highest honor the Consortium presents to member organizations and recognizes outstanding collaborative work that moves cancer prevention and control activities forward in Michigan.


Sandy De Groot has joined Macatawa Bank as a relationship manager at its Clyde Park office. De Groot is responsible for building new customer relationships, opening new accounts, loans and investments.


EmploymentGroup announced it has named Rayeann Lackey sales account manager for the Grand Rapids region, and named Bonnie Blair sales account manager for the Lansing market.

Grand Rapids Opportunities for Women announced its new 2014 board members. Executive committee: president, Sanda Matei, Comerica Wealth Management; past president, Kay Staszel, KMS Group; vice presidents, Angie Hanks, Chemical Bank, and Deborah Phillips, Deborah A. Philips & Associates; treasurer, Jason Goei, Eastern Floral; and secretary, Marnie L. Johnson, Infusion Communication Group. New directors are: Debra Bates, Mary Jean Brown, Jennifer Czekai, Mary Davis, William H. Franks, Paola Mendivil, Denise Sherwood and Elizabeth Ziesmer.

Greg Rhodes has joined Right Management’s Great Lakes region as executive vice president in the Grand Rapids office. He is responsible for business development and market expansion as well as maintaining client company relations and services.


CSM Group announced the additions of construction managers Ryan Smith and Jeremy Eisenbrandt and welcomed the return of construction manager Jerry Shore. The three will provide leadership, direction and oversight during all phases of construction around a fully operational jobsite.

Elzinga & Volkers was named to the National Best and Brightest Companies to Work For list for the third year in a row and received top honors as the National Elite Award winner in the category of small-size business.


Davenport University’s College of Health Professions announced its bachelor of science in health services administration program has received national accreditation from the Association of University Programs in Health Administration. Davenport is one of two universities in the U.S. to earn the initial certification this year.

Jeanine Ward-Roof has been named vice president for student affairs at Ferris State University. She will begin her position as Ferris’ chief student affairs officer Feb. 17. She currently serves as dean of students at Florida State University, a position she has held since 2006.


The Allegan General Hospital Foundation reached a new record for the second year in a row in its annual scholarship award disbursement. Between the spring and fall awards, $25,000 was distributed to support education for health care professionals. Team members who received fall 2013 scholarships are: Ashley Allen, Gwen Kurtz-Stenger and Dylan Meade, Allegan Professional Health Services; Rachel Blank, food & nutrition; Margaret Brown, quality/staff education; Corey Buell, diabetes education; Robbi Dobbins, laboratory; Cynthia Douglas and Rachel Steanburg, critical care unit; Candice Fritz, registration; Robert Guise, radiology; Tiphanie Rhoades, medical surgical unit; and Jamie Thorpe, cardiac services.


Devin Baydoun has joined Forensic Fluids Laboratories as an inside sales representative, serving as the company’s personal interface with existing customers.


The National Association for Business Resources has named Porter Hills a National Best and Brightest Companies to Work For winner for 2013. Porter Hills also announced the addition of Alex Ruch, executive director of human resources.


Nikole L. Canute, a member of Mika Meyers Beckett & Jones PLC, was selected as a member of the Michigan Lawyers Weekly 2013 Up & Coming Lawyers, given to attorneys who go above and beyond, and display ambition, drive, determination and accomplishments that set them apart from their peers.

Warner Norcross & Judd LLP has been recognized for the third consecutive year as a Go-To-Law Firm by ALM. The law firm was nominated by Whirlpool Corp. for its work in contracts litigation.


LeanLogistics announced it has added Interbake Foods and Norse Dairy Systems to its growing network of food and beverage lean technology clients.


Senior Meals Program Inc.’s board of directors has appointed Brewster Hamm president/CEO of Senior Meals on Wheels, Grandville. Since 2001, Brewster has been the owner/principal of the Brewster Group, a strategic organization consulting firm that assists organizations to operate more effectively.


Gov. Rick Synder announced the reappointment of Robert Hughes, of Ada, to the Certificate of Need Commission.


Advantage Sign Supply announced the promotion of Steve Kloosterman to president.

Facebook Comments