Change Ups: Latino Catholic academy hires principal


Dr. Manuel Brenes has been named principal of San Juan Diego Academy, Wyoming, the area’s only K-8 Catholic school for Latino immigrant children. Among his goals is to see students from the academy enter college, join the professions and become generous and moral leaders. Brenes most recently served as bilingual and world languages program director for the Kalamazoo Public Schools. His extensive experience includes teaching in Kalamazoo public schools, New Orleans and at Crow Creek Indian Reservation in South Dakota.


Grand Valley University Foundation honored the following philanthropists and an advocate for women’s sports at its annual enrichment dinner: Enrichment Award, Beatrice A. Idema; Leadership Award, Brian andPaqui Kelly; and Arend D. Lubbers Award, Joan Boand, professor emeritus of physical education.

Six physicians were honored at Spectrum Health’s 16thannual Distinguished Physician Society Dinner and Awards Ceremony. The award recognizes retired physicians and active physicians with 20 or more years of service with Spectrum Health: Charles D. Bukrey, orthopaedics; Jon M. Gans, internal medicine (posthumously); Donald M. Heggen, obstetrics and gynecology; and Willard S. Stawski, general surgery. Also, Emeritus Lifetime Achievement Awards were presented: Ralph Blocksma, plastic surgery (posthumously); and Ralph E. Mathis, obstetrics and gynecology.


Feyen Zylstra founders Marlin Feyen and Bob Zylstra have transitioned into roles as members of the board of directors. Nate Koetje has been promoted to CEO; Jim Ebels to vice president of technical services; and Randy Wright has joined the company as vice president of operations. Roger Tjoelker will continue as CFO and Tim Britt as vice president, Southeastern U.S.

MWH Global announced the promotion of Tamara “Tami” Renkoski to vice president and director of environmental, health and safety for Americas operations, as well as coordinator of global health and safety for its energy and industry-focused clients. Renkoski is based in Allegan.


Baker College of Muskegon students brought home awards from the Business Professional of America National Leadership Conference: Benjamin Looy, first place in systems administration using Cisco and sixth place in computer networking technology; Chad Bazzett, second place in computer networking technology and second place in computer security; Kody Hesselink, seventh place in computer networking, technology; and Joshua Hooker, fourth place in PC servicing and troubleshooting and eighth place in network administration using Microsoft. 

Harold Zeigler Chrysler Dodge Jeep has helped raise $2,740 in funds for Marshall Elementary School with Chrysler’s Drive for the Kids program.

SkillsUSA announced it is sending the following career and technical education students to Leipzig, Germany, for an international biennial competition: automobile technology, Kieron Kohlmann, and CNC turning, Ronald Olkowski, Ferris State University, Big Rapids; hairdressing, Brooke Robison, Mecosta Osceola Career Center, Big Rapids; and welding, Alexander Pazkowski, Washtenaw Community College, Ann Arbor.


Helen DeVos Children’s Hospital announced the appointment of interventional pediatric cardiologist Joseph Vettukattil as division chief, pediatric cardiology.


The West Bay Beach, Traverse City, announced the completion of its extensive multimillion-dollar hotel renovation, which includes 179 guest rooms, corridors, lobby, meeting and event space, outdoor pool area, exterior façade and business and fitness centers.


Clark Retirement Community’s board of trustees announced Brian Pangle is the new president/CEO, effective July 8. Pangle previously was CEO of Great Lakes Specialty Hospitals, Western Michigan.

Hope Network announced Dr. Michael Brashears, former executive director for Ottawa County Community Mental Health, is its vice president of national clinical systems to help advance the organization’s health care strategy.

Rob Bondy, a partner with Plante Moran PLLC, has been appointed to the board of directors of the Equest Center for Therapeutic Riding.


Chambers & Partners USA has named Rhoades McKee’s litigation practice group a leader in Michigan commercial litigation.

Dykema announced practice areas in Michigan recognized as 2013 Leaders in the Field by Chambers USA were corporate/M&A; employee benefits and executive compensation; labor and employment; litigation: general commercial; and real estate. Michigan attorneys recognized: J. Michael Bernard, Amy M. Christen, John A. Entenman, James P. Feeney, Martin Jay Galvin, Dennis M. Haffey, Kyle R. Hauberg, Patrick F. Hickey, Margaret Adams Hunter, Jin-Kyu Koh, Aleksandra A. Miziolek, Brian J. Page, Cameron H. Piggott and Joseph. A. Ritok.

Chambers USA’s Leaders in the Field 2013 included Miller Johnson among Michigan’s best in corporate/M&A, employee benefits and executive compensation, labor and employment and general commercial litigation. The firm’s lawyers featured include: Jeffrey S. Ammon, Mary V. Bauman, Frank E. Berrodin, James C. Bruinsma, Peter J. Kok, Jon G. March and Jon R. Muth.

Miller Johnson family law practice group chair Michael B. Quinn has been elected treasurer of the American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers, Michigan chapter. 


Eastman Chemical Co. has named Holland the recipient of its 2012 Supplier Excellence Award, marking the seventh consecutive year Holland has received this award.


Perrigo has hired Barbara Cahill, marketing manager, new products, for the OTC marketing team, and Leslie Schlaud, production supervisor, for the packaging team.


Artists Creating Together has selected Katie Brower as interim executive director.

Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation announced C.D. Barnes Construction Executive Vice President Todd Oosting is its corporate chair for this year’s Walk to Cure Diabetes. Oosting also has accepted a position on the JDRF board of directions.


Wishbone Pet Rescue Alliance, Douglas, announced it has hired Sara Busfield Decker as executive director. Decker previously served as executive director of the Allegan Area Chamber of Commerce.


The Macatawa Area Express Transportation Authority announced the promotions of Sylvie Lepird to assistant manager of marketing and customer services, and Bill Bowerman to safety and training coordinator.

Facebook Comments