Change Ups: Librarian to serve as MLA president


Asante Cain, reference and adult services coordinator at Grand Rapids Public Library, has been elected 2014-15 president of the Michigan Library Association. He becomes president-elect in July 2013 and assumes the MLA presidency in July 2014. A graduate of the MLA Leadership Academy, Cain’s service to the association includes participation on committees and presentations at professional development events. During his tenure, the MLA will host its annual conference in downtown Grand Rapids.


The National Association of Professional Organizers named its board of directors: president, Mary Dykstra-Novess; corporate associate member director, Al Arends; immediate past president, Angela F. Wallace; treasurer, Sandy Stelter; secretary, Susan Kousek; and industry member directors Danielle Liu, Kate Brown, Nicole Chamblin and Jodi Granok.


Brian Burch of the Holland City Council is among 40 people selected for Next City magazine’s 2013 Vanguard Class who will meet in Cleveland for workshops, local tours and an “unconference” to learn how to improve their cities.

Larry Yachcik, president/CEO of Porter Hills, was honored as Communicator of the Year by the West Michigan Public Relations Society of America for his collaborations with health service providers for older adults throughout Kent County. Porter Hills also won two Gold PRoof Awards for the launch of its Avenues by Porter Hills.

Spectrum Health Blodgett Hospital is the recipient of the Practice Greenhealth Environmental Leadership Award, which means it meets the criteria for Greenhealth’s mercury-free award, recycles at least 25 percent of its total waste stream, holds regulated medical waste to 8 percent or less, and has implemented numerous other pollution prevention programs.


DK Security announced it was awarded a three-year, $1.5 million contract to provide unarmed security guard services at Gerald R. Ford International Airport. The contract specifies DK provide approximately 800 weekly guard hours, requiring the hiring of an additional 20 Kent County area employees.


CSM Group announced the addition of Lindsay Mukans, project engineer. Mukans has worked for the past year as a Monroe Brown Construction Management intern at CSM. In her new role, she is responsible for trade contractor pre-qualification, review of project documents, scheduling, bid document preparation, submittal approval and tracking bulletin/field order pricing.

Erhardt Construction announced it has been selected by Amway Corp. to serve as the general contractor for the direct seller’s new $81 million nutritional products plant on Spaulding Avenue in Ada Township. The plant will contribute to the company’s manufacturing and processing capacity for its NUTRILITE brand of vitamins and dietary supplements.

Redmon Heating and Cooling was named a 2013 Medal of Excellence award winner by Bryant Hearting & Cooling Systems. Redmon was one of 15 Bryant factory-authorized dealers in the U.S. and Canada to be chosen.


Davenport University’s Donald W. Maine College of Business announced the launch of a Master of Management degree program beginning fall 2013 at its Peter C. Cook Center in downtown Grand Rapids, its Lansing and Livonia campuses, and online. A new MBA-Marketing Concentration and a Morning MBA format also are starting this fall.

Northwood University’s board of trustees announced it has elected Daniel DeVos as board chair.

Ferris State University announced it entered into a statewide articulation partnership with the Michigan Department of Education. The university will provide statewide secondary articulated credit agreements that benefit Michigan high school students.

Grand Rapids Community College’s 2013 Business Professionals of America National Leadership Conference team announced it earned top honors among the six Michigan colleges competing: First place national honors video production: Corwin Tobias and Alexi Bettig; second place administrative support team: Kathy Davey, Sally Kulikamp, Beth Steimel and Kristy VanWagner. Davey also won second place and Leyda Cruz earned ninth place in fundamental word processing skills. Third place national honors financial analysis team: Erin Hren, Jacob Reeds and Shana Wheeler. Fourth place digital media production: Alexi Bettig; fourth place entrepreneurship: Corwin Tobias; fourth place business meeting management: Sally Kulikamp; fourth place prepared speech/10th place in contemporary issues/extemporaneous speech: Jacob Reeds; sixth place basic office systems and procedures: Leyda Cruz; ninth place computerized accounting and third place federal income tax: Shana Wheeler; and 10th place financial math and analysis, Erin Hren.


Allegan General Hospital Foundation announced the 17 recipients of its spring scholarships awarded to graduating high school seniors and employees of the Allegan Healthcare Group to support training and higher education studies in health care. High school students: Cody Brainard, Chelsey Collier, Alyssa Cross, Kevin DeMann, John Grofvert, Whitney Heasley, Terryce Nederhood, Jenna Norman and Calvin Woodard. Allegan Healthcare Group team members: Arnie Cook, Tammi Higley, Donna Kluck, Brad Maue, Dylan Meade and Mykel Pavlak. Amanda DeRooy received the Marie Hall Memorial Nursing Scholarship and Jamie Thorpe accepted the Debra Rae Daniels Memorial Scholarship.

Christine Sangalli has been promoted to the new position of vice president, chief compliance officer, for Bronson Healthcare. She is responsible for overseeing ethical and legal standards and ensuring corporate compliance at all Bronson entities.

Leslie Regelin has joined Northern Physical Therapy’s Sparta location as a massage therapist.

Metro Health Hospital has named Erin Hansen its 2013 Nurse Exemplar and Dr. Kevin Furlong its 2013 Nursing-Chosen Physician of the Year.


Lighthouse Group announced the additions of Jay Schripsema, account executive, in Traverse City, and Krista M. Davis, account manager, in its Kentwood location.


Miller Johnson family law attorneys W. Jack Keiser, Michael B. Quinn, Julie A. Sullivan and Connie R. Thacker have been recognized by Leading Lawyers for Family Law. 


Camp Fire West Michigan announced its new board officers: president, Susan Roeder; vice president, Wayne Wilson; treasurer, Deb Parmé; and secretary, Lynn Locke. Newly appointed to the board were members Tim Marcus and Lisa Alberts.


Aaron Payment, Sault Tribe chairperson, has been appointed to the Health and Human Services Secretary Kathleen Sebelius’ Tribal Advisory Committee. He was nominated to one of five national At-Large Representative seats.

Gov Rick Snyder announced the appointments of Clare Stachel of Grand Rapids, and the reappointments of Doreen Bolhuis, East Grand Rapids, and Peaches McCahill, Grand Rapids, to the Governor’s Council of Physical Fitness, Health and Sports.


Atomic Object announced the additions of Ryan Abel, developer, and Chris Meyer, designer. Both previously were Atomic apprentices.


Consumers Energy awarded $4.3 million in incentives through its Business Solutions program to fund 835 projects in the first quarter of 2013 to help Michigan businesses and schools become more energy efficient.

Facebook Comments