Change Ups: Local artist named OPA president


Professional Grand Rapids artist Kenneth Cadwallader has been named president of the Oil Painters of America, a not-for-profit organization representing more than 3,600 artists throughout the United States, Canada and Mexico. OPA is dedicated to preserving and promoting excellence in representational art. It advances the cause of traditional, representational fine art by providing a forum for artists to display their work in regional and national competitions. Cadwallader is a 1996 graduate of Kendall College of Art & Design.


Architect Magazine’s annual ranking publication has put Grand Rapids-based Integrated Architecture in the top 50 firms in the nation in the sustainable and business categories.


Lansing based Michigan Chemistry Council's board of directors announced John Dulmes has been appointed executive director, succeeding Cynthia Schulz who is retiring after serving the Council for 16 years.

Ottawa County Commissioner Don Disselkoen was re-elected to the Michigan Association of Counties board of directors for the 2014-15 term


Grand Rapids resident Anthony “Tony” Martin is Crime Prevention Association of Michigan’s 2014 Outstanding Volunteer of the Year. Martin was nominated by Eastown Community Association’s executive director, Lindsey Ruffin.

The League of American Bicyclists has recognized East Hills-based Brewery Vivant with a Silver Bicycle-Friendly Business Award.

The Michigan Historic Preservation Network announced the Saugatuck Dunes Coast Alliance has received a 2014 Leadership Award for championing the conservation of roughly 2,000 acres of relatively undisturbed dunes and woodlands.


First National Bank of Michigan announced the promotion of Jefra Groendyk to market president, Grand Rapids. Groendyk joined FNBM in 2012 as vice president and commercial banker.


Deborah Phillips has joined HR Collaborative as a senior business partner.


Materials Testing Consultants Inc. announced Tyler Hanna has joined the company as a staff engineer.

Shari L. Bouman has rejoined Triangle Associates as cost accountant. She was with the company from 2007-2013; prior to returning to Triangle, she was an accountant with DTS Fluid Power.

Peter Skornia has joined Bazzani Associates as partner and vice president of operations.


Aquinas College announced Brad Smith (’91), president/CEO of Intuit, is the recipient of its Outstanding Alumnus Award, and Jacqueline D. Taylor (’80), a higher education administrator for more than 30 years, received its Outstanding Alumna Award.

Ottawa Hills High School welcomed Patricia Charity Elliott as the new varsity girls’ basketball coach.She most recently served as assistant coach/recruiting coordinator for Ohio University, and prior to that, held coaching positions at the University of Buffalo, Cal State Northridge University, University of Hawaii Manoa, Long Beach State University and Western Michigan University.


Kent County Health Department announced it was awarded $726,661 a year over the next three years through the Racial and Ethnic Approaches to Community Health initiative, administered by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. It will focus on improving the health of those living in Hope Zone Neighborhoods in Grand Rapids that include increasing tobacco-free environments, access to healthy food or beverage options and physical activity opportunities.


Sally Cory of the Kent County Health Department Women’s Health Network will join the Michigan Cancer Consortium board of directors effective Jan. 1.

Shoreline Vision announced Michelle Cassens is its new executive director. SV is a multi-specialty provider group with 150 employees, six locations and a surgery center.  


Holland Home announced work has started on an $8.5 million expansion project for its Breton Rehabilitation & Living Centre, to be completed in fall 2015. It will provide a new 4,560-square-foot rehabilitation center and a 13,390-square-foot 15-bed memory care assisted living unit. The privately funded endeavor raised $8.5 million in advance of the groundbreaking.


HNI has added Heidi Driscol and Sean Casey, account managers.


Foster Swift Collins & Smith PC attorney John W. Inhulsen has been appointed by the Michigan Supreme Court to a three-year term on the Michigan Attorney Discipline Board. 

Hilger Hammond PC announced attorney Benjamin Hammond has achieved the AV Preeminent Rating from Martindale-Hubbell for ethical standards and legal ability. Attorneys Stephen Hilger and Aileen Leipprandt also maintain the AV Preeminent Rating. 

Miller Johnson attorney Wendy P. Holtvluwer was appointed to the board of directors of the Western Michigan Estate Planning Council. Raj A. Malviya was appointed to the State Bar of Michigan Probate and Estate Planning Council. The firm also welcomed Dustin J. Daniels as a member in its Grand Rapids office.

Varnum announced business attorney Robert C. Rutgers Jr. has rejoined its Grand Rapids office. He practiced at Varnum for several years in the mid-1990s, and most recently was a shareholder at Rhoades McKee. Also, Varnum was honored as the top Michigan-based Diversity Focused Company by Corp! Magazine at the 8th annual Michigan Salute to Diversity Awards.

Warner Norcross & Judd LLP attorney Ford J.H. Turrell has been appointed to serve a three-year term on the Council of the Administrative and Regulatory Law Section of the Michigan State Bar. WNJ partners Dennis J. Donohue and Steven C. Kohl have been selected to serve two-year terms as secretary-treasurer and committee member, respectively, on the governing council of the State Bar of Michigan Environmental Section.


Perrigo Co. has hired Anthony Hogan, factory OTC business manager for the e-commerce team, and Samantha Oudeh, continuous improvement engineer for the technical operations team, both in Allegan.


The Property Management Association of Michigan announced James D. Wilson, of Grand Rapids, is the recipient of its 2014 Lifetime Achievement Award.


Research!America has named David Van Andel, Van Andel Institute chairman and CEO, and Dr. George Vande Woude, founding scientific director, Van Andel Research Institute, ricipients of its 2015 Advocacy Award. They will be honored March 11, 2015, at the Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium in Washington, D.C.


Corrigan Moving Systems announced Steven Wayward and Bryan Steensma were named United Van Lines Household Goods Salesperson of the Month and Logistics Salesperson of the Month, respectively.


BizStream has hired Brad Milligan, front-end developer, and Josh Trench, quality assurance specialist.

Facebook Comments