Change Ups: O-A-K completes iconic building’s ballroom

Change Ups: O-A-K completes iconic building’s ballroom

Some 98 years after helping to construct the original structure, Grand Rapids construction management firm Owen-Ames-Kimball marked the completion of the historic McKay Tower’s Ballroom at McKay. It utilizes all 10,900 square feet of a former second-floor bank, accommodating about 200 people. O-A-K shares a long history with the iconic downtown building, constructing the original two-story building known as Grand Rapids National Bank in 1915, with an additional 12 stories added in 1925.


STELLAService, an independent provider of customer service ratings for eCommerce retailers, has awarded Grand Rapids recognition and awards firm Baudville an Elite rating to help customers select the best online shopping experience.


Firestone Building Products Co. LLC has presented Langerak Roof Systems Inc., Hudsonville, with the 2013 Master Contractor Award for its longstanding commercial roofing quality.

G.O. Construction, a local joint venture team comprised of GDK Construction of Holland and Owen-Ames-Kimball Co. of Grand Rapids, announced it will oversee the $5 million Kruizenga Art Museum project on the Hope College campus in Holland. The project marks the fifth the two construction firms have managed together over the past three years.

Moore & Sons Roofing has been named an Owens CorningPlatinum Preferred Contractor. The award recognizes contractors who are listed in the Owens Corning Network based on superior customer service, high quality work and licensing status.

Triangle Associates announced it has named Brad Stevenson project manager, Nick Kramer and David Satterlee superintendents, and Laura Andrea project coordinator.


Sally Vander Ploeg has been appointed Calvin College’s vice president for administration and finance. From 1999 to 2012, she served as the college’s director of gift planning, and from 1989 to 1999, she worked as an international tax attorney for Amway Corp.


Heidi Depault has joined Churchill Mortgage as a home loan specialist assistant.


The Firehouse Subs Public Safety Foundation announced it has donated more than $18,500 worth of life-saving tools and prevention education materials to the Grand Rapids Fire Department.


Grand Rapids Community Foundation board of trustees has awarded a $195,000 grant to Gerontology Network to support Traveling Grannies and Grandpas, an intergenerational mentoring program at Harrison Park School that benefits the physical and mental health of mentors, all of whom are more than 50 years of age.


Network 180 announced it has selected Scott Gilman as its executive director. Gilman most recently served as CEO of the Shiawassee County Community Mental Health Authority, a $15 million publicly managed health care organization. He assumes his new post July 8.

The Society of Cardiovascular Patient Care has conferred full reaccreditation to the Spectrum Health Butterworth Hospital chest pain center, a protocol-driven and systematic approach to patient management that allows physicians to reduce time to treatment during the critical early stages of a heart attack.


Barnes & Thornburg LLP was ranked in nearly 15 practice groups in the 2013 Chambers USA: A Guide to America’s Leading Lawyers in Business, and more than 40 of its attorneys received individual rankings. In Michigan, Banking & Finance and Corporate/M&A practice groups were ranked, along with six individual attorneys: Michael Campbell, Patrick Mears, Erik Daly, Tracy Larsen, Michael Snapper and Robert Sikkel.

Christin Decker Petroski has joined the Midland office of Warner Norcross & Judd LLP. Petroski concentrates her practice in corporate law with an emphasis on transactions.

Miller Johnson family law attorneys Joseph. H. Doele, Michael B. Quinn and Connie R. Thacker announced they are offering collaborative practice as an alternative solution for divorce as well as child custody/parenting issues, division of property and other assets. A collaborative divorce begins with a signed agreement between both parties to reach a settlement without going through the courts.


Echo Global Logistics announced it has named Holland its 2012 Regional LTL Carrier of the Year. This marks the third time in the past four years that Holland was selected for the award.


Perrigo announced the additions of David Shore, SAP basis engineer for the information technology and systems team, and Tracy Sienko, QA supervisor for the Plant 7 quality assurance team.

TerraTrike, the world’s largest manufacturer of recumbent trikes, announced CEO Jack Wiswell and CFO Wayne Oom are finalists for the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year 2013 Award in Michigan and Northwest Ohio. Award recipients will be named June 20 at the MGM Grand, Detroit.


The Associated Press Media Editors announced its 2012 award winners. Radio winners are: General Excellence, WGVU-FM and WGHN-FM; Best Natural Sound, Patrick Center and Caroline MacGregor, WGVU-FM; Best Feature Story, Patrick Center, WGVU-FM, Jesse Bruce and Willis Kerridge, WGHN-FM; Best News Documentary, Ron Stevens, WGHN-FM and Patrick Center, WGVU-FM; Best Individual Reporting, Patrick Center and Caroline MacGregor, WGVU-FM; Best Sportscast, Eric Kaelin, WGHN-FM; Best Spot News, Walt Zerlaut and Ron Stevens, WGHN-FM; Best Individual Photojournalism, Eric Kaelin, WGHN-FM; Best Enterprise/Investigative Reporting, Patrick Center, WGVU-FM; Best Hard News, Patrick Center, WGVU-FM; Best Continuing Coverage, Ron Stevens and Walt Zerlaut, WGHN-FM. Television winners: General Excellence, WOOD-TV and WZZM-TV; Best Website, Tim Steele and Dave DeJonge, WOOD-TV; Best Weathercast, George Lessens, WZZM-TV; Best Natural Sound, Andy Sugden and Peter Ross, WZZM-TV; Best Feature Story, Brent Ashcroft and Andy Sugden, WZZM-TV, and Ken Kolker and Bilal Kurdi, WOOD-TV; Best News Documentary, Valerie Lego and Joshua Aldredge, WZZM-TV; Best Individual Reporting, Marlee Ginter, WOOD-TV, and Sarah Barwacz, WZZM-TV; Best Sportscast, WOOD-TV, and Tom Clyde, WZZM-TV; Best Spot News, WOOD-TV; Best Spot Photojournalism, Marc Thompson and Bilal Kurdi, WOOD-TV; Best Enterprise/Investigative Reporting, Ken Kolker, WOOD-TV, and Sarah Barwacz, WZZM-TV; Best Hard News, WOOD-TV; Best Continuing Coverage, WOOD-TV; and Best Newscast, Steve Koles and Valary Packer, WWMT-TV and Danny Hopkins, WOOD-TV.

WZZM 13 announced it has launched a 13 On Your Side Watchdog Team headed by reporter and news anchor Lee Van Ameyde, who will continue to anchor the 6 p.m. newscast alongside co-anchor Juliet Dragos and will spend the rest of his time reporting on stories important to West Michigan.


Kathy Labozzetta, a partner at i3 Business Solutions, is the recipient of Heartland Technology Peer Group’s Go-Giver Award in recognition for being an example of the Five Laws of Stratospheric Success.

No posts to display