Bar association elects leadership


Elizabeth Joy Fossel. Courtesy Varnum

The local bar association has elected a new slate of leaders.

At its annual meeting this month at CityFlatsHotel in downtown Grand Rapids, themed “Celebrating Spring,” the Grand Rapids Bar Association, or GRBA, elected its 2017-18 officers and trustees.

Kenneth Williams-Buck, marketing and membership coordinator for GRBA, said the event included honors as well as appointments.

“While offering a heartfelt welcome to our 2017-18 officers and trustees, the outgoing officers and trustees were acknowledged,” Williams-Buck said.

These include several professionals: President Christopher Yates, 17th Circuit Court judge; Treasurer William Azkoul, of Gruel, Mills, Nims & Pylman; Secretary Benjamin Hammond, of Hilger Hammond; Trustee Angel Duff, of Alticor; Trustee Joseph Gavin, of Miller Johnson; and Trustee Bradley Glazier, of Bos & Glazier.

At the meeting, the bar association also recognized David Keyser, of-counsel at Mika Meyers, and Phillip Nantz, member at Nantz, for 50 years of legal practice.

2017-18 officers

President: Elizabeth Joy Fossel, Varnum

President-Elect: Randall Velzen, Mika Meyers

Vice President: Kevin O’Dowd, Kotz Sangster Wysocki

Treasurer: Scott Melton, Gruel Mills Nims & Pylman

Secretary: Ingrid Jensen, Clark Hill

2017-18 trustees

Michael Adams, Law Office of Michael David Adams

Andrea Bernard, Warner Norcross & Judd

Jeffrey Black, Plachta, Murphy & Associates

Bradley Fowler, Mika Meyers

Christopher Hastings, Western Michigan University Cooley Law School

Anita Hitchcock, City of Grand Rapids

Charissa Huang, Smith Haughey Rice & Roegge

Thomas Sinas, Sinas Dramis Law Firm

Richard Zambon, Richard E. Zambon


Incorporated in 1902, the Grand Rapids Bar Association provides continuing education and other services and programs to member attorneys and works to improve the practice of law in West Michigan.

The association also provides a Lawyer Referral Service and an Ask-the-Lawyer program for the community and gives out a number of member and community awards each year.

Facebook Comments