College honoring African-American leaders


The Bob and Aleicia Woodrick diversity center is part of GRCC in downtown Grand Rapids. Photo via

A local college is honoring 12 African-American leaders for their "exceptional contributions" to the quality of life in Grand Rapids.

The Bob and Aleicia Woodrick Center for Equity and Inclusion at Grand Rapids Community College is hosting its 36th-annual Giants Awards and Banquet at 6 p.m. on Feb. 3 at DeVos Place in Grand Rapids, at 303 Monroe Ave. NW,.

The awards recognize the contributions of African-Americans from "all aspects of community life."

Each award is named after local individuals “who have given excellence.”

Proceeds from the event will support the GRCC Foundation’s Milo M. Brown Memorial Scholarship and the Jr. Giants Fund.

Tickets can be purchased online.

2018 Giants Award winners

Floyd Skinner Justice Award

Huemartin Robinson II

Walter Coe Public Service Award

Christina Y. Johnson

Eugene Browning Medical Service Award

Dr. Valencia L. Agnew

W.W. Plummer Humanitarian Award

Renee Williams

Ethel Coe Humanities Award

Not awarded this year

Milo Brown Business Award

Wayne D. Wilson

Phyllis Scott Activist Award

Rhondo Cooper

William Glenn Trailblazer Award

Bill Manns

Raymond Tardy Community Service Award

Gertrude G. Croom

H.C. Toliver Religious Life Award

Lois Jene Thomas

Hattie Beverly Education Award

Carolyn J. Evans

Martha Reynolds Labor Award

Deborah A. McMillan (posthumously)

Giant Among Giants

To be announced at the ceremony

Facebook Comments