Commercial realtors name annual award winners


Mike Murray. Courtesy Commercial Alliance of Realtors

A commercial real estate organization has honored the top professionals of the past year at its annual awards ceremony.

The 16th-annual Awards Reception by the Grand Rapids-based Commercial Alliance of Realtors, or CAR, was recently held at the CityFlatsHotel ballroom in downtown Grand Rapids.

Mike Murray, C.C.I.M., of Colliers International West Michigan was named Realtor of the Year.

Murray has been part of the commercial real estate community and a CAR member for over 20 years. He has served on numerous committees and task forces, including serving as chairperson of the networking and events committee and nearly all the subcommittees that are part of the group.

Murray has represented CAR at both state association and national association meetings and spoken on behalf of commercial industry issues to elected officials during Capitol Hill visits in Washington D.C.

The 2018 Project of the Year award was given to Third Coast Development for its work on Diamond Place.

Dave Denton, VP of brokerage at DAR Development, earned the award for most transactions in 2018, having completed 68 deals.

Charlie Hoats, director of property management at SIBSCO, won the Realtor Active in Politics Award. He is an contributor to the Realtors Political Action Committee, or RPAC, and he attends political events on behalf of the association and represents CAR as a state RPAC trustee.

Drew Born, a real estate broker at RE/MAX Grand Rapids, was named Rookie of the Year. The award is given to a realtor who has been practicing for 18 months or less but has quickly learned how to gain success.

Kirk Perschbacher, project geologist and brownfield planner with Lakeshore Environmental, was awarded Affiliate of the Year. Perschbacher serves on the networking and events committee, has taught classes related to his area of expertise and attends most of the events and education offered by CAR.

Jeff Ammon, an attorney at Miller Johnson, was this year’s recipient of the Committee Service Award. Ammon serves on the education committee and has spent many hours coordinating course panelists and educational content, as well as serving as the moderator for many panel discussions.

Other award winners

Biggest Lease Award

Office: David Wiener and John Kuiper, Colliers International, and Ray Kisor, PURE Real Estate, the 10-year lease of 16,776 square feet at 150 Ottawa, 10th floor

Retail: Kara Schroer and Dane Davis, NAI Wisinski of West Michigan, for the 15-year lease of 3,600 square feet on Westnedge Avenue in Kalamazoo.

Industrial: Drew Born and Jessica Geers, RE/MAX of Grand Rapids, for the 12-year lease of 185,000 square feet on Patterson

Biggest Sale Award

Investment Portfolio: Russ Bono and Cameron Timmer, NAI Wisinski of West Michigan, for the retail sale of properties in Owosso and Sturgis

Industrial: Duke Suwyn, John Kuiper and Mike Visser, Colliers International West Michigan, for the sale of 3787 Patterson

Land: David Rapp and John Kuiper, Colliers International West Michigan, for the sale of 92.33 acres in Gaines Township

Multi-Family: Jeff Schreur and Mike Visser, Colliers International West Michigan, for the sale of One Swing Bridge Lane in Douglas

Office (Grand Rapids): Kevin VanHaitsma, Bradley Company, for the sale of a 3001 Orchard Vista in Grand Rapids

Office (Kalamazoo): Jodi Milks, Bradley Company, for the sale of a 90,000-square-foot office tower in Kalamazoo

Retail: Russ Bono and Cameron Timmer, NAI Wisinski of West Michigan, for the sale of Orchard Plaza in Byron Center

Facebook Comments