Davenport University presents Mike Jandernoa award for business excellence


Mike Jandernoa is the former CEO and chairman of Perrigo and co-founder of Hopen Life Science Fund, Bridge Street Capital and Grand Angels. Photo via youtube.com

Davenport University will honor local businessman and community leader Michael Jandernoa on Friday evening at the school’s annual Excellence in Business Gala.

Davenport will present the former CEO and chairman of Perrigo, a consumer pharmaceutical company, with its 2013 Peter C. Cook Excellence in Business Award at the prestigious event being held in DeVos Place. A record crowd of more than 900 are expected to see Jandernoa be honored by the university and hear former First Lady Laura Bush address the gathering.

Jandernoa has been consistently active in the business community. He co-founded and serves as an executive and board member of the Hopen Life Science Fund and two venture capital groups: Bridge Street Capital and Grand Angels. He received the Accelerate Michigan Innovation Competition’s “Spirit of Michigan” Award in 2011 for his role in investing in entrepreneurial companies.

Jandernoa also created the Jandernoa Entrepreneurial Mentoring program, which partners up-and-coming business owners with proven leaders that act as mentors and advisors.

Jandernoa still serves on Perrigo’s board of directors and has been a Grand Valley State University Foundation director for over more than decades. He also served as a co-chairman for last year’s Cook DeVos Center for Health Sciences capital campaign. He and his wife, Sue, chair the Jandernoa Family Foundation.

A 6 p.m. reception will kick off the gala. Dinner will be served at 7 and the former First Lady will speak at 8 p.m. Following her speech, Jandernoa will receive the Excellence in Business Award.

The award honors the lasting memory of Peter C. Cook, an influential businessman and generous philanthropist, who passed away in November 2010 at the age of 96. Davenport named the award after Mr. Cook in 1998. He was an alumnus of Davenport.

All proceeds from the event go to the Davenport University Foundation, which provides scholarships for students. Friday’s award gala marks the 14th year the university has honored a local business person. A few of the previous winners were Frederik Meijer, Robert Hooker, Betsy DeVos, Fred Keller and Donald Maine.

Facebook Comments