Fundraising association celebrates winners


The West Michigan Association of Fundraising Professionals is comprised of more than 200 members. Photo via

A regional association of fundraisers will be handing out awards early next month at its National Philanthropy Day celebration.

The West Michigan Association of Fundraising Professionals, which has more than 210 members, has revealed the eight award winners who will be honored at an event on the 28th annual National Philanthropy Day.

The event in Hudsonville will be held on Nov. 10 at The Pinnacle Center, from 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.

The event honors people and groups making a philanthropic difference in their communities.

Eva Aguirre Cooper, WOOD TV8’s director of community affairs, will emcee the event.


The keynote speakers for the event will be Fred Keller, chair of Cascade Engineering, and his daughter, Christina Keller, president of CK Technologies.

The association said the Kellers will discuss “multi-generation family giving in West Michigan — what is happening today and what is likely to change in the future.”


People can register for the event online by 11:30 p.m. on Nov. 5.

Tickets for the event are $50 per person and $400 for a table of eight.

Award winners

Ann Fergemann: Ben Franklin Award for an Outstanding Fundraising Professional

Brian Cloyd: Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser Award

Robert and Eleanor DeVries: Distinguished Philanthropist Award

Bissell: Outstanding Corporation Award

Idema Foundation: Exemplary Foundation Award

Adeline Steele: Outstanding Youth in Philanthropy Award

Paws with a Cause: The West Michigan Chapter Award for Excellence in Fundraising

Shelley Irwin: President’s Award

Facebook Comments