Hospitality industry names WAVE Award winners


The JW Marriott Grand Rapids is a landmark in the heart of downtown. Courtesy JW Marriott

Experience Grand Rapids and the Kent County Hospitality Association have named the winners of the 10th-annual WAVE Awards.

Six hospitality employees were chosen as WAVE Award recipients in six industry categories at the Impacting Hospitality Celebration last week. 

WAVE stands for "way above visitor expectations."

The winners were judged on their attitudes, attentiveness, performances, knowledge and consistency in the hospitality industry in Kent County.

The winners will also be nominated for the Stars of the Industry Awards, which will be announced at the 2018 Pure Michigan Governors Conference.

WAVE Award winners

Restaurants & Breweries: Carmen Gehring, Cygnus27

Lodging 150+ Rooms: Janet Johnson, JW Marriott Grand Rapids

Lodging Less Than 150 Rooms: Jordan Strah, Country Inn & Suites East Beltline

Retail & Service: Adeshola Makinde, Madcap Coffee

Attractions & Events and CTA Star of the Year: Candice Flesza-Smith, Discovering Michigan

Volunteer in Hospitality: Melissa Greko, Showspan

Facebook Comments

Previous articleFord airport hires COO
Next articleGrocery delivery company expands reach
Danielle Nelson is a Grand Rapids Business Journal/Grand Rapids Magazine staff reporter who covers real estate and construction, architecture, agriculture, sports, law, education, travel and tourism, energy and sustainability, and arts and entertainment. She is also the staff researcher who compiles the weekly lists. Email Danielle at dnelson at grbj dot com. Follow her on Twitter @Dan_Nels