Kent County board elects leadership


Mandy Bolter. Courtesy Kent County

The Kent County Board of Commissioners has selected its leadership for 2020.

The board unanimously voted to re-elect Mandy Bolter (District 5) to serve as chair for the second year.

Stan Stek (District 6) was re-elected as vice chair and will continue as chair of the Legislative and Human Resources Committee.

Diane Jones (District 4) will continue serving as chair of the Finance and Physical Resources Committee.

The leadership team also includes Jim Talen (District 15) as minority vice chair and vice chair of the Legislative and Human Resources Committee and Emily Brieve as vice chair of the Finance and Physical Resources Committee.

Bolter was first elected board chair in 2019 and has served on the board since 2014. Her district encompasses Cascade, Lowell and Bowne townships and the northern half of Caledonia Township.

“We have a bipartisan board, so to be elected unanimously is important to me,” Bolter said.

In her remarks to the board, she highlighted several accomplishments in 2019, including receiving an AAA bond rating for more than 20 consecutive years and adopting a balanced budget for 2020, which included funding to address emerging public health issues such as PFAS and hiring two public health workers to assist with lead investigations.

Priorities Bolter plans to focus on in 2020 include more action on lead abatement, recycling efforts across the county and affordable housing.

“When things are running well, you do not hear about them, but I think it’s important that residents know what we do and how their tax dollars are being spent,” Bolter said.

Facebook Comments