Kent County names leadership


Mandy Bolter. Courtesy Kent County

Kent County commissioners have elected a new chair and named others to a variety of leadership posts on committees, subcommittees and boards.

Mandy Bolter was elected to serve as board chair, taking the place of Jim Saalfeld, who said last year his third one-year term would be his last in the role, according to a previous Business Journal report.

Bolter was first appointed to the board in 2014 and was elected to her first full term later that year. She works as a senior analyst at Spectrum Health and previously had an 18-year career in legislature and state appropriations.

Bolter expressed gratitude for being elected to the role and said she hopes the amount and difference of experience each of the 19 commissioners brings will be a positive asset.

“I hope we can park the politics at the door and bring some productive public service to this board,” Bolter said.

Stan Stek was elected as board vice chair and also will chair the legislative and human services committee.

Diane Jones will continue serving as chair of the finance and physical resources committee, with Emily Brieve elected as vice chair.

Jim Talen will serve as minority vice-chair for the board and both committees.

Two newly elected board members, Monica Sparks and Stephen Wooden, began their terms.

The board also approved appointments for various committees, subcommittees and boards. The county received 146 applications for 55 vacancies.

Agricultural Preservation Board

Commissioner Matt Kallman

Area Agency on Aging – Advisory Council

Commissioner Stephen Wooden

Harold Mast

Area Agency on Aging – Board of Directors

Commissioner Carol Hennessy

Community Corrections Advisory Board

Circuit Court Judge Mark Trusock

Commissioner Jim Talen

Christine Tober, defense attorney

Christine Witters, probation representative

Community Health Advisory Committee

Commissioner Emily Brieve

Commissioner Betsy Melton

Savator Selden-Johnson, DHHS representative

Mark Swan, health care provider

Lori Pearl-Kraus, health care provider

Lisa Knight, community-based organization

County Building Authority

Michael Jaskula

Ross Leisman

Fire Commission

Commissioner Roger Morgan

Commissioner Tom Antor

Carlton Blough, township elected official

Jacqueline Smith, township elected official

Jennifer Venema, township elected official

Foreign Trade Zone Board

Wayman Britt, county administrator

FOC Citizens Advisory Committee

Chuck DeWitt, sheriff’s designee

Michelle Smith-Lowe, prosecutor’s designee

Kyle Quinn, family law attorney

Malique Greer, general public representative

Gerald R. Ford International Airport Authority Board

Birgit Klohs

Dan Koorndyk, county representative

Grand Valley Metro Council

Mandy Bolter

Grand Rapids – Kent County Convention/Arena Authority

Steve Heacock

Kent County Community Action Agency Advisory Governing Board

Tom Oosterbaan, consumer sector representative

Jessica White-Hatinger, public sector representative

Kent County Family & Children’s Coordinating Council

Jack Greenfield, private agency representative

Scott Smith, Kent ISD superintendent at-large

Kasie Pickardt, private agency representative

Maureen Kirkwood, private funding representative

Kent District Library Board

Thomas Noreen

Charles Myers

Kent Hospital Finance Authority

Richard Fabiano

Hattie Patterson

Lakeshore Regional Partners Substance Abuse Oversight Policy Board

Shellie Cole-Mickens

Molly Reid

Sara Sobel

Land Bank Authority

Kurt Reppart

Millennium Park Architectural Advisory Review Board

Commissioner Stan Stek

Dave Custer, design community representative

Public Works Board

Commissioner Tom Antor

Commissioner Phil Skaggs

Remonumentation Peer Review Group

Arthur Brintnall, professional surveyor

Ken Vierzen, professional surveyor

Randall Jonker, professional surveyor

Dan Pratt, professional surveyor

Road Commission

Rob VerHeulen

Veterans’ Services Committee

Trisha Sexton

Facebook Comments