Leaders reap EOY honors


John Lowery

A Grand Rapids executive and five other business leaders in the region have been named entrepreneurs of the year.

Applied Imaging president John Lowery was named one of the 2016 EY Entrepreneur of the Year winners for the Michigan and Northwest Ohio region. Holland-based EBW Electronics President Cory Steeby and Chairman Pat LeBlanc, Kalamazoo-based AmeriFirst Home Mortgage President Mark A. Jones and CEO David N. Gahm, and Michael VandeMaele, CEO of Portage-based Pro Services Inc., also were regional winners.

EY Entrepreneurs of the Year

Chosen by an independent judging panel comprised of past winners of the award, leading CEOs and other business leaders, the winners were named at an awards gala last week. The event is sponsored by Ernst & Young.

The 12 winners, chosen from a list of 41 regional finalists, are eligible for consideration for the EY Entrepreneur of the Year national program. National winners in several categories, including the overall Entrepreneur of the Year, will be named Nov. 19 in Palm Springs, Calif.

The EY Entrepreneur of the Year award recognizes those who build and lead successful, growing and dynamic businesses.

Regional winners

John Lowery, Applied Imaging (Grand Rapids)

Cory Steeby and Pat LeBlanc, EBW Electronics (Holland)

Mark A. Jones and David N. Gahm, AmeriFirst Home Mortgage (Kalamazoo)

Michael VandeMaele, Pro Services, Inc. (Portage)

Dale Watchowski, American House Senior Living Communities (Bloomfield Hills)

Shri Thanedar, Avomeen Analytical Services (Ann Arbor)

Dan Musser, Grand Hotel (Mackinac Island)

Donald Hicks, LLamasoft Inc. (Ann Arbor)

Julia Owens, Millendo Therapeutics Inc. (Ann Arbor)

Laurent Bresson, Nexteer Automotive (Saginaw)

John Pigott and Randy Oostra, ProMedica/ProMedica Innovations (Toledo, Ohio)

Amy Peterson and Diana Russell, Rebel Nell (Detroit)

Facebook Comments