Michigan Women’s Foundation honors two Grand Rapids leaders


Michelle Van Dyke is the regional president of Fifth Third Bank. Courtesy Fifth Third Bank

The Michigan Women’s Foundation has honored six women from across the state, including Grand Rapids leaders Michelle Van Dyke, regional president of Fifth Third Bank, and Diana Sieger, president of the Grand Rapids Community Foundation.

Van Dyke and Sieger, along with two other Michigan women, received Women of Achievement & Courage awards for their leadership last week.

In addition, former Michigan Supreme Court Justice and current Director of Michigan Department of Human Services Maura Corrigan received the Trillium Lifetime Achievement Award, and Grand Valley State University student Jessica Wehby also was recognized.

Van Dyke is responsible for providing strategic oversight to Fifth Third affiliate banks within the Michigan, Indiana, and Ohio regions, as well as western Pennsylvania and St. Louis. Van Dyke was named one of American Banker’s 25 Most Powerful Women in Banking in 2007 and 2012, and a Woman to Watch in 2005, 2010 and 2011.

She also has shown leadership through community involvement, serving on the boards of Davenport University, Calvin College, Grand Valley State University Foundation, Spectrum Health System, The Right Place Inc., Business Leaders for Michigan and Grand Action.

Sieger has been president of the Grand Rapids Community Foundation for more than 25 years, and is responsible for the leadership, management, strategic planning and development of the organization.

She also is considered a national leader in the area of foundations and civic philanthropy, and serves in a leadership capacity on the following organizations: Council on Foundations, Council of Michigan Foundations, Community Foundations Committee, Kent County Family & Children’s Coordinating Council, and the Board of the Office of Foundation Liaison, Governor’s Office.

The Business Journal has recognized her as one of its 50 Most Influential Women in West Michigan in 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010 and 2012.

Wehby was recognized for her involvement with MWF’s Young Women for Change, a leadership and philanthropic granting program with chapters throughout the state, as well as her leadership as president of Amnesty International, secretary of the Lions’ Club, and co-chair of the 2012-2013 Sexual Assault Awareness Week — all through Grand Valley.

She also was recognized as the university’s Most Promising Junior Leader in 2012 and is a recipient of the 2012 Hutt Scholarship based an essay competition to “Write About Your Best Day Ever.”

The MWF is a nonprofit organization focused on helping women and girls achieve equality and empowerment. It also promotes economic self-sufficiency and personal well being for women and girls to improve their lives and impact their futures.

The luncheon was held at Frederick Meijer Gardens and Sculpture Park.

Facebook Comments