Museum elects new board


Kurt Hassberger. Courtesy Rockford Construction

The Grand Rapids Art Museum elected new members to its board of trustees. 

Kurt Hassberger was elected to serve as the new president, and Erin Gravelyn was elected to serve as the new vice president of the museum’s board of trustees. 

Lizbeth O’Shaughnessy was re-elected as the secretary and treasurer, and Lauretta Murphy was elected as the president of the foundation board of trustees. 

Hassberger will serve a two-year term, while Gravelyn, O’Shaughnessy and Murphy will serve one-year terms. 

Hassberger is the chief counsel at Rockford Construction Group. He is currently serving as chief counsel and chairman of the construction board. He also is a member of the Grand Rapids Bar Association and the State Bar of Michigan.

Gravelyn is the director of global field marketing at Herman Miller Inc., where she leads the strategic, tactical and creative teams. She also serves as a philanthropic adviser to the Herman Miller Cares Foundation. 

O’Shaughnessy is the senior vice president, chief administrative officer, general counsel and secretary for Steelcase Inc. She also is responsible for the global talent management, sustainability, social innovation, global trade compliance and environmental performance and corporate governance as the secretary of the board of directors. O’Shaughnessy is a member of the State Bar of Michigan and the American Bar Association. 

Murphy is an attorney at Miller Johnson. She chairs the estate planning practice, private client practice, probate practice, guardianship practice, the wills and trust disputes practice groups. Murphy is a fellow in the American College of Trust and Estate Counsel and a member of the State Bar of Michigan. She also is a member of the National Academy of Elder Law Attorneys, Women Lawyers Association of Michigan, American Bar Association and the Grand Rapids Bar Association.

In addition to the newly elected and re-elected members, there are 17 other members on the museum board of trustees. There are seven other members on the foundation board of trustees.

Facebook Comments