Parrish won’t seek fourth year as Kent County Commission chairwoman


After three consecutive years of leading Kent County, Commission Chairwoman Sandi Frost Parrish announced Monday that she will not seek a fourth year in the leadership post when the election is held next month.

“While my tenure wasn’t without its challenges, I’m proud of the bipartisan efforts our board has put forth to resolve issues in an efficient and effective manner and the structurally balanced budgets the board has adopted the past three years,” said Parrish in a statement.

“It is customary for the board chair to serve three years, and while two chairs have served four, it is my intention to follow the customary path. I will not be seeking a fourth term,” she added.

Parrish was selected by commissioners to first chair the commission in 2010 and then re-elected to the post the next two years. Before rising to board chair, Parrish served as vice chairwoman during Roger Morgan’s fourth and final year as chairman.

Parrish represents the county’s 5th District on the board, which includes Bowne, Cascade, Vergennes and Lowell townships, along with the city of Lowell. She was first elected to the commission in 2007 and won another two-year term in November.

“The county has been faced with many diverse issues the past few years. Sandi’s leadership during this time has helped keep the county moving forward. I truly appreciate her dedication and hard work,” said Daryl Delabbio, county administrator and controller.

Commissioners will elect a new chairperson on Jan. 3. Current Commission Vice Chairman Dan Koorndyk is likely to be considered for the post.

Facebook Comments