Subcontractors name Michigan Contractor of the Year


The contractor Owen-Ames-Kimball is part of the team working on the $31-million Jack H. Miller Center for Musical Arts at Hope College. Photo via

A contractor with a long local history is the new Michigan Contractor of the Year.

The winner

Owen-Ames-Kimball, or O-A-K, which was founded in Grand Rapids in 1891, was named the big winner at Thursday night’s fifth-annual MCOY awards celebration, hosted by the American Subcontractors Association of Michigan.

The event, which was attended by about 400 people, was held in Grand Rapids at Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park.

As this year’s MCOY winner, O-A-K will now get a shot to receive the association’s National Construction Best Practices Award.

O-A-K was previously honored with the MCOY award in 2011.


Pioneer Construction in Grand Rapids was named the 2014 runner-up.

The firm received an honorable mention in 2012.

Honorable mention

Elzinga & Volkers Construction Professionals in Holland received an honorable mention at the event.

The firm won first place in 2012.

Online vote

Votes by association members are tallied online.

The MCOY awards are given to association members who exhibit the highest degree of professionalism in their field in 10 categories: bid ethics and practice; safety; job-site supervision; communication; schedule coordination; project relations; lien processes; administrative procedures; payment terms; and quality workmanship. 

Facebook Comments