ADDY Awards Celebrate Creativity

    GRAND RAPIDS — “It’s All About Priorities” for 33 Gold and 102 Silver ADDY award winners who celebrated with more than 600 members of the West Michigan creative community at the 2004 ADDY Awards last Thursday. Sponsored by the Ad Club of West Michigan (ACWM), the ADDY Awards were held at the new DeVos Place Convention Center in downtown Grand Rapids.

    2004 Best of Show award winners are:

    Best of Show — Print: Jager Group for Kalamazoo Air Zoo, Air Zoo direct marketing campaign

    Best of Show — Broadcast: Fairly Painless Advertising for Herman Miller, “Get Real” video

    Best of Show — Interactive: Hanon McKendry for Life Education Fund of Colorado, ProKnowledge Web site

    Best of Show — Student Category: Elizabeth Schuelke for The Polishing Center, Commercial Printing Co. production manager campaign

    The 2004 Judges’ Choice award winners are:

    Judges’ Choice — Best Use of Color: BBK Studio for Grand Valley State University, GVSU lecture series

    Judges’ Choice — Advertising Concept: Jager Group for Calvin Christian Schools Association, “A+”

    Judges’ Choice — Copywriting: Copper for Borgess, “Nothing Like the Heart”

    Judges’ Choice — Traditional Broadcast: Copper, for HoMedics, “One Second/Footbath/Swede”

    The entrants earning the largest number of ADDY awards this year are:

    Hanon McKendry — 15 awards total: two Gold and 13 Silver; Best of Show Interactive

    Copper — 13 awards total: four Gold and nine Silver; Judges’ Choice for Copywriting and Traditional Broadcast

    Fairly Painless Advertising — Nine awards total: four Gold and five Silver; Best of Show Broadcast

    Jager Group — Eight awards total: six Gold and two Silver; Best of Show Print/Direct Marketing Campaign; Judges’ Choice Advertising Concept

    BiggsGilmore Communications — Seven awards total: seven Silver

    Eighty-four companies, agencies and individual professionals entered the competition, resulting in a total of 564 entries. Fifty of these entries were from college-level students.

    Print/broadcast judges for the 2004 ACWM ADDY Awards were: Frank Haggerty, associate creative director and senior partner, Carmichael Lynch; Bonnie Reiss, senior graphic designer, McClain Finlon Advertising Inc.; Alan Woodrow, vice president and creative director, Italia Partners; and Tim Brunelle, vice president and creative director, Arnold Worldwide Inc.

    For the first time, a separate set of judges judged entries in the Interactive category. They were: Tiffany Shlain, director and founder of The Webby Awards and Internet expert, ABC News, Good Morning America; and John Young and Christopher Keefe, partners at Keefe and Young Crossmedia Workgroup.

    The ADDY Awards, the advertising industry’s largest and most representative competition, recognizes creative excellence and best advertising as part of a three-tiered competition. After competing for recognition as the best in their markets, local winners then compete within one of 14 district competitions. District-winning entries are forwarded to the national ADDY Awards Competition for the final evaluation of creative excellence.    

    Facebook Comments