MMA Calls For Nominations

    LANSING — The Michigan Manufacturers Association (MMA) is calling for nominations for the 2003 John G. Thodis Michigan Manufacturer of the Year Award.

    The award is presented by the MMA and cosponsored by Deloitte & Touche/Deloitte Consulting and Clark Hill PLC and nominations are due March 17.

    Nominations are open to any individual employed in Michigan’s manufacturing industry.

    A panel of judges, representing corporations, business development organizations, universities and other firms serving manufacturers, will choose manufacturing leaders who contribute to their communities and the industry for the honors.

    Awards are presented in two categories, a “small tier,” encompassing companies with less than 500 employees, and a “large tier” for leaders of companies with more than 500 employees.

    The judges may also bestow a special achievement award to recognize an individual whose contributions may not fit the small and large award criteria.

    Recipients will be announced in May, recognized at the annual MMA Legislative & Executive reception and featured in the July/August 2003 issue of MMA’s Enterprise magazine.

    One of last year’s award recipients was Jim Zawacki, president of GR Spring and Stamping. Other award recipients included Laurie Moncrieff, president of Schmald Tool & Die in Burton; Joseph Day, chairman and CEO of Freudenberg-NOK of Plymouth, and Henry Upjohn, president and CEO of Special-Lite Inc. in Decatur.

    Information and a nomination form can be found online, at, or by contacting MMA’s Jean Eggemeyer at (517) 487-8543 or           

    Facebook Comments