US Prosecution Team Wins Awards

    GRAND RAPIDS — Three awards were given to West Michigan attorneys recently for their hard work in March during the prosecution of Marvin Gabrion in the trial of United States v. Marvin Charles Gabrion Jr.

    U.S. Attorney Margaret Chiara announced the recipients of the prestigious Department of Justice, Executive Office for United States Attorneys (EOUSA), Director’s Awards are from the Western District of Michigan.

    The EOUSA Director’s Award for Superior Performance as an Assistant United States Attorney was given to Joan E. Meyer, Timothy P. VerHey and Donald A. Davis, all of the Grand Rapids office.

    The EOUSA Director’s Award for Superior Performance in a Litigative Support Role was given to victim-witness coordinator Kathy Schuette, legal assistant Karine Towner, paralegal Cindy Vine and intern Brendan Albert.

    Each of the recipients also is of the U.S. Attorney’s Office in Grand Rapids.

    The EOUSA Director’s Awards for Outstanding Contributions in Law Enforcement were given to Roberta Gilligan of Grand Rapids, FBI special agent, to Richard Miller, State Police detective sergeant, and David Babcock, Newaygo County undersheriff.

    “This award recognizes a team of local, state and federal law enforcement officers and prosecutors for their exceptional work between August 1997 and March 2002, in the successful prosecution of Marvin Gabrion for the first-degree murder of Rachel Timmerman,” said Chiara.

    “Regardless of what penalty the jury had imposed in this case,” she added, “the prosecution team is deserving of this recognition because of the exceptionally high level of professionalism and public service exhibited by its members in bringing to justice a despicable defendant who posed a significant threat to the safety of the citizens of West Michigan.”

    The EOUSA Director’s awards honor men and women in the 94 U.S. Attorneys’ Offices around the country who have distinguished themselves through extraordinary professional achievements and dedication to excellence in the performance of their duties.

    They awards are among the highest performance-based awards given by the Department of Justice.

    Facebook Comments